My first job interview

Yesterday I had my first behavioral interview for my first real job (yesterday was also when I learned what a behavioral interview was.) The interview was for CEB, a member-based advisory company. Basically, it researches and analyzes business practices and then sells memberships to Fortune 500 companies for access to that data. I did well in the interview, and because I have experience in sales, I think I have a competitive edge.

But I never really imagined that I would be doing that. I’ve never known what I wanted to do when I grow up. I never had a dream career as a child. Other kids would draw themselves in space or taking an apple for a child, or directing a hose at a burning building.

My drawings were always lackluster.

I’ve always had likes and dislikes, and strengths and weaknesses, but that’s about it. What I do know, is that my passion is not meeting in leather chairs with a legal pad and Dasani bottled water trying to cross-sell CEOs. I wish it was, because I’m good at it, but it’s not.

I thought my life’s passion would just fall into my lap. But it hasn’t. The only thing on my lap is popcorn crumbs and half a string cheese.

Leave a Reply

